Diablo 2 Monsters

diablo 2 monsters
Act 2 Sand Maggot Lair Fan Art by UnidColor

All enemies in Diablo II are known as monsters. They range in strength, resistance, size and skill. Most appear at random in the wilderness, though they are normally found in groups.

Diablo 2 Monster variations

Every monster in Diablo II falls into the following categories:

  • Normal. These are the monsters that most frequently appear in the game. They are the original versions and can be identified because their name appears in white.
  • Champion. Every now and again, a monster will spawn as a Champion. They will almost always do so as part of a group of Champion monsters. Champion versions can fall into further subcategories. These are Berserker, Champion, Fanatic, Ghostly and Possessed. Each variation of the Champion monster has a slightly different type of stats, however all of them will have a largely increased number of Life points. On the screen, a Champion’s name is in blue.
  • Unique. Every Unique monster has a specific modification, be this Teleporting or Magic Resistant. These random modifiers can be offensive or defensive skills. Unlike Champions, only one Unique monster can spawn per group, though it will always have several Minions of its own. All Unique monsters have their own name, which is different from their regular monster name. This appears in gold.
  • Super Unique. Just like Unique monsters, a Super Unique has its own Minions and its name appears in gold on the screen. However, there is a difference between Unique and Super Unique monsters in Diablo II. While a Unique monster will spawn at random in any location, a Super Unique will always appear in the same place in every single game. Because of this, we can consider Bosses as super unique monsters. 

Is there a difference between Bosses and Super Unique Diablo 2 monsters?

While Bosses technically fall into the category of Super Unique monsters there are numerous characteristics that differ between the two. The main difference between Bosses and Super Unique monsters is the impact of their death. We can further split Bosses in Diablo II into the Evils and the Act Bosses. Killing the Evils is the main purpose of the game, while each of the Act Bosses must be destroyed in order to complete the final quest of every Act. For a Super Unique monster, there isn’t this level of importance placed upon their defeat.

Different types of monster

Regardless of whether they are Normal, Champion, Unique or Super Unique, all monsters fall into three further classes. Depending on the type, it will have special modifications and certain weapons will be more or less effective against it. The different types of monster in Diablo II are:

  • Animal. There are no modifiers to animal monsters. Technically, an animal monster is just something indigenous to Sanctuary, though monsters deemed animals are often given this title because they simply don’t fit into either of the other two categories. An animal monster doesn’t even have to look like an animal – it could be a gargoyle or even a human. To fall into this category, they simply have to react like an animal in gameplay terms, with no modification.
  • Demon. According to the lore, Demon monsters come from The Burning Hells and are loyal to the Prime Evils. They can take extra damage from weapons that are modified to give “extra damage to demons”. There are also several Unique Items that reward the player with extra life for killing a Demon.
  • Undead. As the name suggests, Undead monsters are said to be revived spirits. Undead monsters are the least common of all three monster types. Despite this, there are weapons and items that will aid in killing an undead monster, and there are Paladin skills that are solely to kill Undead monsters.

Monster vs Level

As your character grows in level and progresses through the Acts, monsters will also grow in strength. If they didn’t, they wouldn’t be a challenge later down the line! To do this, they appear in different ‘breeds’, which are shown by the colour of the monster. In order to be more difficult to destroy, monsters begin to have increased stats and new immunities. Some high-level monsters in Diablo II will even gain new abilities.

Items dropped by monsters

All monsters can drop items. While certain types will drop certain things, the same monster won’t always give you the same item. However, the item dropped by a monster in Diablo II is not random. The higher the level the monster, the better the items it can drop. Therefore, some low-level monsters can’t drop items that are too high-level for them, but high-level ones can still drop the less desirable items of a low-level monster. They are less likely to do so, though. Unique and Super Unique monsters will always drop a magical item, a gem or a rune. Bosses have a higher likelihood of dropping even better items.

So, if you’re looking for something in particular, how do you get the item you want in Diablo II? There are three ways you can increase your odds of getting the item you’re after. Firstly, the number of items a monster drops is dependent on the number of players in a game. The more players, the more items a monster will drop. The second method is to use the likes of Chance to Find Magic Items, which improve your probability of getting a good magical drop (if the monster is capable of doing so). The final method of increasing your chance of getting a certain item is to play the odds. One can partially predict Monster item drops based on a number of factors like level and location within an Act. Luckily, drop calculators exist, which allow you to input the item you’re after and it will tell you the likelihood that you will find it in each area. After discovering the best place and best monsters to defeat to get the item you want, you can head to this part of the game and begin fighting!


Latest Articles

New Here?

Get a


Coupon for your first D2Items Order..